Bookstore

The Ministry of Books

Adult Christian Formation at St. Mark’s is not limited to the guidance of teachers who are on our staff, or who live in San Antonio, or even those who come to do a weekend retreat. One of the most important aspects of our formation as disciples of Christ occurs through the ministry of St. Mark’s Bookstore, tucked into a corner of the first floor of the Parish House. Through books, we can spend days and days being guided by the most important spiritual guides of our time--or of any time: Mary Earle and Philip Newell on Celtic Christianity; biblical commentaries with solid scholarship; classic works by Walter Brueggleman, Abraham Heschel, Margaret Guenther, and C.S. Lewis; and Episcopal resources such as prayer books and hymnals. What we read in the best spiritual literature is not just a way of passing the time, but also a way of shaping our actions and identity as people of faith.

St. Mark's Clergy Summer Reading List 

All books listed below can be found in the St. Mark's Bookstore. 

The Rev. Beth Knowlton

Tribe: On Homecoming and Belonging by Sebastian Junger
We have a strong instinct to belong to small groups defined by clear purpose and understanding--"tribes." This tribal connection has been largely lost in modern society, but regaining it may be the key to our psychological survival.
Disunity in Christ by Christena Cleveland
With a personal touch and the trained eye of a social psychologist, Cleveland brings to bear the latest studies and research on the unseen dynamics at work that tend to separate us from others.
Incognito by David Eagleman
In this sparkling and provocative book, renowned neuroscientist David Eagleman navigates the depths of the subconscious brain to illuminate its surprising mysteries.  

The Rev. Carol Morehead 

Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson
A powerful true story about the potential for mercy to redeem us, and a clarion call to fix our broken system of justice—from one of the most brilliant and influential lawyers of our time.
Wrestling with God by Ronald Rolheiser
The bestselling author of The Holy Longing provides an inspiring message of hope and perseverance for all of us struggling with our faith in tumultuous times.
You Play the Girl by Carina Chocano
In the tradition of Roxane Gay, Rebecca Solnit, and Susan Sontag, Chocano brilliantly shows that our identities are more fluid than we think, and certainly more complex than anything we see on any kind of screen.

The Rev. Matt Wise

Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen
Bruce describes growing up Catholic in Freehold, New Jersey, amid the poetry, danger, and darkness that fueled his imagination.
Braving the Wilderness by Brené Brown
Brown argues that we’re experiencing a spiritual crisis of disconnection, and introduces four practices of true belonging that challenge everything we believe about ourselves and each other.
Rising Strong by Brené Brown
It is the rise from falling that Brown takes as her subject in Rising Strong. As a grounded theory researcher, Brown has listened as a range of people shared their stories of being brave, falling, and getting back up.
For You to See the Stars by Radney Foster
For You To See The Stars is Foster at his classic storytelling best, both as a seasoned singer/songwriter and a soulful writer of prose.

Navajo Blue Corn Handmade Soap

Recommend by our own Brenda Kingery, this soap is made from the finest oils and native plants, that only can be sourced by the Navajo people. They let the bars cure for a month, and the feel and wonderful scent are amazing!      

From the Book of Common Prayer

Almighty God, you proclaim your truth in every age by many voices; 
Direct in our time, we pray, those who speak where many listen,
And those who write what many read;
that they may do their part in making the heart of this people wise,
its mind sound, and its will righteous,
to the honor of Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.